I’m not old.


Internet, lately I’ve been feeling the exact opposite of young and carefree.

In the past year or so, I’ve almost completely stopped going out to bars and hanging out. In fact, I feel so disconnected from the person I was when I used to go to bars and and hang out that I have no idea what the point of going out to bars even is anymore. I barely drink. I go to bed early so I can get up early and have eaten brussels sprouts everyday for the past week.

Not to mention the job, the 401 K, and the crushing realization that my knees will probably just hurt all the time now because my joints suck and there’s nothing I can really do about it.

Yeah, yeah, I know I’m 24 and I have nothing to complain about, but lately I just feel dull. And boring. And old. 

At least until I heard this new song on the radio – Animals by Martin Garrix – and danced my ass off in my car in the parking lot outside my job, some punky techno song that has this one part that kept playing that makes me go ughhh yes play that one part song I love that one part. You know, the part that feels like the music is right in your bloodstream.

(The part starts at 1:30)

And then I calmly got out of my car and went back to work like a real person.

I guess the moral of the story is that oldness is what you make of it, and that lately I’ve been too stressed out and overworked to realize I can still go out and have fun like the idiotic, carefree young thang I still am, and that everyone has a song that will make them dance like they’re still 18.

So go out there and dance, internet. Because you aren’t old until you tell yourself you’re old.

 

Leave a Reply

