THE END.


I made it, internet! Today is the Last Day of my challenge to write a blog post every day for a year. Can you even believe it?

(I know you probably don’t particularly care, but pretend for a moment, will you?)

Wow. Lots of feelings. Relief, joy, a little sadness. Some intense regret that I missed one day.

Do I feel like I did a good job? I suppose. In some ways I feel like I’m pulling into the finish line leaking gas, with only three surviving tires and a broken windshield. A lot of the blogs I wrote were just awful. Probably most of them, in fact. And there were definitely times where I could have tried harder to write a quality post, but I just kind of didn’t.

However, in other ways, I feel like I succeeded brilliantly.

The goals of this year, to quote my past self, were:

To “dig myself out of the hole I am currently creating” by “wallow[ing] long enough in my own apathetic unproductiveness”. Past me was apparently both melodramatic and wordsy.

To “have something to my name when I tell people I’m a writer and they roll their eyes at me”.

To “defy that little voice in my head screaming at me saying that I will fail”.

To become more committed.

Yes. Absolutely. I achieved all of those things and more.This was undeniably the best year of my life to date. I got my shit together, moved out of my parent’s house, paid exorbitant car bills (twice), and have more or less successfully navigated being a real person (or as much of one as I can possibly be at this moment. And oh yeah, this blog got me my job. My amazing, real person, full time with benefits, how-did-I-get-this-lucky job.

Considering I thought I’d only make it two weeks, I’d say that’s pretty good.

So now what? Well, as I mentioned yesterday, I’m taking a break. A little over a week. I’ll be back on January the 6th, which is a Monday, if you particularly care. I think I’ll start out with three posts a week and adjust from there. Maybe throw a few treats in the mix. You know how I do.

Thanks for reading, internet. It’s been a (weird) year.

xenadog

4 comments

Leave a Reply

