The L.A.W. – Coping with Christmas.


I hate Christmas.

Okay, that’s not true.

I hate Christmas marketing.

As far as I’m concerned, Christmas music is only acceptable when my Papear plays it during the week I’m off at Christmas, and even then, that Frosty the Snowman song can die in a corner. 

One of my work offices has been decorated for Christmas for the past three weeks. It has been… frankly, a bit much.

Christmas has been Valentine-nized, as far as I’m concerned. The point of Christmas is to get together with people you enjoy and appreciate, drink eggnog by the fire, and get warm fuzzy feelings of love from multiple people all at once.

It is not to listen to hokey music and kill trees and look at cartoon images of Santa on everything.

Our downtown put up a bunch of those huge, tacky beyond reason plastic blowups today, and it was almost the last straw. Luckily, I had hot chocolate and  a muffin, so I was preoccupied with other, better concerns.

Honestly, I think I’d like Santa a lot more if he didn’t hang around for 2 months.

At any rate, if you are as Grinchy as I am around this time of year, here are some things I’ve found helpful as far as keeping my blood pressure down for the past few weeks:

1. Realize that other people are getting enjoyment out of the hokeyness, even if you are not.

2. Find a small, non-Jewish child and have an enlightening conversation about Santa. Or, failing that, read this.

3. Spike your eggnog. Heavily.

Leave a Reply

