The L.A.W. – Time Management.


This is somewhat of a follow-up post to this post on procrastination, but also not.

Words are good today, people.

***

In the last few months, I’ve become somewhat of a time management expert.

Why?

Nearly every day, I work an 8 hour shift at work. Three days a week, I leave from that job to go to my other job and teach either a barre or a yoga class, which takes up about another hour and a half of my time. When I’m not doing that, I’m writing a blog post for this website, and when I’m not doing that, I’m practicing or performing music.

Oh, and I also have a life, and friends, and a boyfriend, and a family, and chores, and myself to look after.

Oh, and did I mention I’m going to be participating in NaNoWriMo this November? On top of moving back into Mamma Mia’s house to take care of my dogs for a month?

Oh, and picking up three more yoga classes a week, while I’m at it.

I guess you could say I’m a little busy.

How do I manage to get all of this accomplished without going crazy (okay, without going completely insane)?

Oh, a little effective time management.

I use my lunch breaks to either research stuff for blogs, write my blogs, or run errands. I write and practice music in the shower and in the car. I clean something in either the bathroom or the kitchen everyday, and I do my laundry at mi Madre’s house whenever she invites me to dinner.

I’ve learned over the past little while that it’s easy to want to push off hanging out with your friends and family because you feel too scattered brained and frantic to even imagine taking the time out to do it, and I’ve also learned that it’s important to prioritize those moments, because they make everything else worth it. No, I don’t see some of my friends as often as I’d like, but the purest friendships are sometimes the ones where you can pick back up wherever you left off.

Most importantly, I’ve learned that you need to devote your entire mind to whatever you’re doing. Don’t half-ass your job, or you’ll waste time redoing it. Don’t have your mind on other things when you’re out with your friends, because you rarely get to see them. And when you need a moment all to yourself, give yourself a full moment.

Lord knows you deserve it.

 

Leave a Reply

