Ode to Apples.


My granny did not care for my Rude Review of apples this week, internet (although I believe ‘did not like’ is perhaps a mild way of putting it), and she has challenged me to write an ode to apples that, in her words, “show[s] off your creative, cerebral and imaginative skills”.

Challenge accepted, Gran-mère.

apples-trees-variety-US

***

Ode to Apples.

Where I grew up, there were apples
little ones
green and snarled
that fed the neighbour’s worms
amid the craggy branches of a malformed tree,
and where they fell they stayed
and watered their own tree with their meager life’s juices.

When I was small, I plucked those apples,
and took them to my great-grandmother’s
in hopes that she would transform them
into jam
into butter
or one of her coveted pies.

And my great-grandmother smiled,
and left my apples as an offering for the birds and the raccoons,
and took me to market
and showed me the granny smiths
and the blushing galas
and the jovially striped honey crisps.

and together we bathed their flesh in butter and spice
and put them to rest
and covered them with dough.

As our creation baked, the crabapples disappeared
one
by
one
giving themselves up to the woodland creatures
attracted by the strong scent of cinnamon
and roasting butter
and sweet apples.

and we had tea
and pie
and were none the wiser for the loss.

 

Leave a Reply

