Career Bucket List.


This isn’t a yoga related blog per say (or at least, what it ended up as isn’t, even though the concept totally was), but I am writing it in half-pidgeon, so I’m going to count it.

yessssssssssss

So I pitched this awesome idea today to the Director at my job, and the core idea isn’t exactly super important to this blog post, really, but basically it would involve talking to the local high-school about how awesome the city we live in is. It’s an idea I’ve actually had floating around in my head for a little while now. It’s also an idea that no one else understands my excitement about.

Anyways, the Director and I chitchatted about it, and he said he’d like to see me flesh it out a little more and come back, and then he said something along the lines of is this one of your life goals? and I honestly answered, yes.

I’d like to explain that answer a little.

Like most 20-somethings, the questions what do you what to do with your life? Where do you see yourself in five years? and especially what are you going to do with that Art degree? fill me with an emotion somewhere between the urge to cry and the urge to run away. As a coping method, I came up with a list in college of things I would like to accomplish in my life that I felt would contribute to my eventual career. The career part I envisioned less as a concrete job, but more of a sort of vague and misty shape made out of projects that I accomplished over a long period of time.

See? There’s my Art degree in action. My life is a series of projects. Kind of like a career oriented bucket list. Or a to-do list. Or something.

Some of these projects were a little… less well thought out that others. Some of these projects aren’t actually projects.

Nevertheless, here’s the list. I starred the ones I’ve already completed.

-Give a lecture as a guest speaker at both of my alma maters.
-Record a CD or DVD.
-Publish a thesis or dissertation.*
-Publish a creative novel or compilation of works.
-Host a gallery show.*
-Lead a special project.*
-Organize and host a big workshop of some kind.
-Have to travel a long distance for an important business meeting.
-Attend a conference as a pivotal speaker.
-Be invited to an interview for a news source.*
-Attend jury duty.

Hilariously, this list was written when I was still pretty convinced I could make it as an intellectual writer slash artist who was mostly a recluse and also a millionaire and also possibly a rockstar slash supermodel.

The question of what or who I want to be is still terrifying to me, because half the time I have too many options, and half the time I just want to be me, doing what I’m doing. However, silly as it is, the list keeps me going. It gives me direction, vague as it is.

It’s open enough to allow for experimentation, and ambitious enough to keep pushing me forward.

I’ve already crossed off four of the things on this list, and hopefully with the next three months, I’ll be able to cross off two more (no, I’m not telling you which two. You have to guess.)

I guess my moral is that you don’t always have to have an end goal to keep moving forward.

Blessed are the flexible, for they never get bent out of shape.

There. I knew I’d bring it back around to yoga.

P.S. – Am I the only one who thinks the concept of jury duty is really exciting??

One comment

  1. Pingback: Recording an EP?? | her name was cassandra

Leave a Reply

