Fiction Friday #26 – Drift, revised.


Today’s story prompt is from Nancy Stohlman.

Find a story you’ve written that isn’t quite working. Chop it down to exactly 100 words. Give it a new title.

This is Drift, the story from my week-long writing challenge, reworked. I love it.

***

Return to Sender

“Hey,” I said, sitting down next to my fiancée on the bed. Sarah’s eyes were red and puffy.

“Hey,” she said, handing me the wedding RSVP her best friend had sent back through the mail, unopened. “Alissa will not be in attendance.”

I looked at the pale blue envelope, dotted a darker color where her tears had stained the paper. In the weeks since Alissa had told my fiancée she was in love with her, Sarah had sent her five invitations. The bitch had not deigned to reply.

I ripped the invitation in half.

“More food for me.”

4 comments

Leave a Reply

