DRIFT countdown – Conclusion?


Hey internet.

If you haven’t been following along, ten days ago I decided that I was going to write a short story from scratch and submit it to a national contest.

I didn’t make it, folks.

Sigh.

However, there’s a lot to be said for what I have accomplished over the past ten days.

Firstly, although I haven’t fully completed my short story to satisfaction, I did write a 6000 word piece in ten days, which frankly, I think is decently impressive. The point of the challenge was to get me writing, and though I didn’t finish on time, I certainly achieved that goal.

Secondly, the past ten days of creative writing has given me a much needed break from my usual daily slog. I have a ton of new ideas for things to write about, and I’m actually really excited to go back to my personal sloppy brand of satire. I’m seriously considering doing a week long short story break once every other month or so as a reset button.

Thirdly, I’m amazed and humbled at the show of support and love I’ve gotten from the WordPress community during this little project. I averaged 4-5 likes a day during it, which is pretty insane for me, and although the view count was fairly low, I really felt that the people reading my posts were actually reading and enjoying the material.

I’m going to step away from the story for a little while to get some fresh eyes on it, but I promise I’ll post the shiny, edited, in order version by the end of July.

Meanwhile, get ready for some awesome new material in yo faces.

I love you guys.

❤ Cassandra.

Leave a comment