True Life – I was a Stage Five Clinger, part 2.


I know, internet. I totally left you hanging right when we were getting to the juicy part.

I don’t understand how Cassandra could possibly be a Stage Five Clinger, you probably asked yourself repeatedly over the last two days. She seems like such a normal, well adjusted, fashionable, sanitary person. 

Well, you would be right, internet, and I’m modest, too. However, this is the story of how I was a Stage Five Clinger, and it’s still one of the most mortifying circumstances I’ve ever been in, so you’ll excuse me for beating around the bush.

So anyways, I had this insane crush on Cupcake, who was a year older than I was (I was 15, he was 16). We were on the same crew team (he was varsity, I was a wee novice), and I used to chat about him with my friend, Hillary Duff, using extremely clever nicknames that there was no way he would ever possibly figure out.

…of course he did. You saw that one coming, didn’t you? He totally knew. Everyone knew, apparently, and I, using my keen powers of observation, was completely oblivious to the fact that everyone totally knew about my giant crush FOR MONTHS.

Sigh. High school.

Anyways, one day after practice, Hillary Duff and I are in the parking lot talking about Cupcake, and Cupcake waltzes over and says, “Um, I know you’re talking about me.”

So of course I did Something Very Smooth.

Aka I ran for it.

Yes, Literally.

I am an embarrassment.

Luckily enough, Cupcake found my complete lack of social skills endearing, and he asked me out on a date.

Now, I mentioned before that I was a dating dummy. What I should stress now is that I was a moron, actually, because somewhere in my mind I’d managed to get the idea that going on a date with someone automatically make them your boyfriend.

No, I’m not making this up. Going on a date with someone makes them your boyfriend. I was (okay, am) socially inept. However, you have to admit it would make things much easier. No “are we monogamous?” conversations. No awkward “how do I introduce this person with using the B word?”. No dating for 2 years without changing your Facebook status. One date = boyfriend. Boom.

So we went on a date. My dad dropped me off at a local park and we went Geocaching. Never found the thing, but had a lovely afternoon. My dad picked me up. No kiss. No hug. No handholding. Not so much as a pat on the back.

I went right home and changed my Myspace status, because this was 2005 and Facebook wasn’t even a thing yet.

Oh yeah, you’re thinking, this chick is crazy. I bet she had a totally pimped out Myspace page. 

Yes, internet, I did.

And I’m not ashamed.

Yet I digress.

The very next day, Cupcake left on a week-long school trip to England.

By the time he had returned, everyone in high school thought we we dating.

Because I told pretty much everyone.

Because I’m a psychopath.

In all honesty, we could have seen this coming.

In all honesty, we could have seen this coming.

Now here comes the fun twist, internet.

Cupcake had made out with someone else on his trip. 

GASP.

Now, in his defense, he knew that we weren’t actually dating, and since he’d been overseas, he didn’t know that I thought we we dating. I, however, thought he’d cheated on me.

I took to AIM the night I found out about Cupcake’s infidelity. I don’t have a transcription, but I’ll do my best.

me: how cud u?

him: ??? 😦

me: u cheated on me??!!

him:?????????????

me: IT’S OVER!!

him: uh… okay?

Cue tears. Drama. Hysteria.

It wasn’t until almost SIX MONTHS LATER that I figured out that Cupcake and I had never ACTUALLY been a couple. And that everyone at school had secretly been laughing at me about the entire affair. And then of course I was so mortified that I couldn’t talk to the guy for three years after that.

…I’m really, REALLY oblivious.

Sigh.

 

Leave a Reply

