The Lover and the Fighter.


Daylight breaks – the dawn is left behind.
I’m already out of bed trying to get you off my mind
It’s been 3 weeks to the day since you’ve been gone for good
and I’m suffering withdrawal like I never thought I would.

I am the lover and you are the fighter it seems;
and I tried and I tried and I tried not to ask what that means
Does the lover stand by as the fighter fights on?
Does the lover still love when the fighter’s long gone?
Was this always the plan? Or was it my company?

Time drips by in little increments.
And the sun comes and goes comes and goes comes and goes
and you went

and I tried and I tried and I tried and I tried not to beg,

instead I stood by as you packed all your things and you left.

Well I am the lover and you are the fighter it seems;
and I tried and I tried but I just have to ask what that means.
Does the lover stay strong?
Does the fighter come back?
Does the lover move on?
Does the fighter forget?
Is how it ends? and is this the end for me?

Well I have to say that I don’t think that I understand

because I’ve seen the sun and the moon rise again and again

if the fighter comes back I’ll be standing right here by the door
and don’t worry about love;
the lover has plenty in store

Well I am the lover and you are the fighter you say
And I’ve loved and I’ve fought
so I must tell you I disagree.

if the fighter comes back I’ll be standing right here by the door

and don’t worry about love;
the lover has plenty in store.

Leave a Reply

