Burn This / Becoming a yogi.


I wrote a couple articles for a start up called Burn This that has recently launched!

Here’s a teaser and a link to the full article.

***

As a dedicated yogi and yoga teacher, I’m often asked how I can relate to students new to yoga.  Do I really understand their unease?  Am I trustworthy?  Am I experienced enough?

I can understand that skepticism. I have clients come in from all walks of life – college students, retirees, trust funders and scholarships, injured, sick, marathon runners and couch graduates.  And here I am, a short, skinny 23 year old who looks like she’d be more at home at a sorority formal than a yoga studio. What gives me the authority to tell people about what’s happening in their bodies? How can I understand what it’s like to have a serious health problem, an injury, or to need to lose a ton of weight? Who am I, and most importantly, can I relate?

Far from my days as a beginner, I’ve been practicing yoga seriously now for about five years. Three years ago, I started teaching yoga, aided in large part by my mom, who is a yoga, barre and pilates instructor and studio owner. I eat, sleep, and breathe yoga now, but it wasn’t always like that.

 continue reading…

316528_1871266181079_3764071_n

2 comments

  1. Brandye Dague

    I think yoga is a great workout physically mentally & spiritually, but I’m a heavy lifter kind of gal & can’t seem to get into yoga. I think now that I’m older I should give it another try b/c I was young when I 1st tried it. Thanks for the post tho it makes me consider giving it another shot!

Leave a Reply

