Exercise guilt.


It’s been a weird day here at hnwcassandra. Actually, a weird few days.

I mentioned recently that I was in a bit of a yogic rut, and I’m still coming out of it.

My practice recently has been extremely inconsistent. I’m training to teach another form of exercise and I’ve been busy with life and actually trying to have a full day off once a month or so (LOL NOPE), so when I do have a minute or two, the studio is the last place I want to be.

Yet I digress.

I’ve been thinking a lot recently about workout guilt and whether or not it’s a good thing. If you ever go on to Pinterest (where you should follow me! hnwcassandra!), you’ll start to notice about a kazillionity pins related to working out, to getting skinny, and to being healthier.

A lot of those pins are quotes that run somewhat along the lines of IF YOU DON’T EXERCISE RIGHT NOW YOU ARE A TERRIBLE PERSON AND YOU WILL GET FAT AND DIE.

How motivating.

How motivating.

This is a terrible lie.

I’m not saying that people don’t make awful excuses to not go to the gym. I make awful excuses all the time. I made three today, including I just ate a whole bowl of Rice Krispies and I don’t want to brush my hair. 

However, villainizing (spell-check tells me that’s not a word, but I’m going to run with it) ourselves for not going to the gym isn’t going to get us off the couch. It’s just going to make us feel shittier about ourselves for not going. Rewarding ourselves for going doesn’t work either. We aren’t dogs. We don’t need a treat every time we do something good.

The self-sustaining desire to go the gym comes from within. It’s a mindset. It’s a habit. It’s a way of life that doesn’t need punishment or reward. It just is. Changing your existing mindset to a gym-goer’s mindset is hard and terrible and seems impossible, but it’s not.

But anyways. It’s late and I’m tired and work comes early, so let’s table this until next Tuesday.

Ciao.

Leave a Reply

