Yoga rut.


I have a confession, internet. I’m in a serious yoga rut. I’ve been in a serious yoga rut for almost a month now, and I don’t quite know how to get out of it.

Now, to be clear, this really isn’t a work-out laziness related rut. I’ve been doing some good hiking and swimming and whatnot since the weather has been nice (also because I was in PR. I’m not a polar bear). I’ve been doing barre training. I’m one of those weirdos who will randomly drop and do twenty pushups and continue on with my day (reasons why I’m single #7- I will drop whatever I’m doing and exercise randomly with no warning).

It’s just that recently I’ve been bored on my mat, not as a reflection with whoever’s teaching, but as a reflection of my headspace. I’ve been making up excuses to not practice. Barney Stinson and I went on a long hike on Monday, and I easily could have made it to class when we were finishing up, but I tacked on an extra twenty minute loop just so I wouldn’t make it.

Don’t get me wrong, It’s not like I’ve been completely off my mat. But over the past week that I’ve been home, I’ve been to four different yoga classes, and I find myself unable to reach that metaphorical spiritual itch that I need to scratch. Or really, more like the itch has been lacking all together. Or something. Something with itching and yoga and a stupid metaphor.

I don’t know. Any suggestions?

3 comments

  1. Teresa

    Just honor where you are now and don’t struggle against it. Perhaps you need to learn something new about yourself. Maybe now is the time to do hikes, go swimming, randomly drop and do 20 pushups….or . I have to admit, I have, and still do at times, struggle with these issues. Only mine has been with Climbing and Mt Biking. I used to live for those moments I could climb and ride…but now my body feels beat up afterwards and if I’m to be totally honest…it just doesn’t do it for me anymore…and ironically I’m being drawn towards yoga. So try and listen to your body and respect that small inner voice. Change is difficult….but life is ever changing. Best of luck on your journey! 😉

  2. straightupyoga

    My suggestion: take your mat somewhere you don’t usually take it and practice on your own–or scrap your mat altogether and find a warm grassy patch. Do your favorite poses. Don’t do any poses you don’t want to do. Maybe close your eyes, or maybe look around you. And above all, don’t over think it, and don’t beat yourself up over it. Of all the ruts to be in, a yoga rut isn’t too bad.

  3. Pingback: Exercise guilt. | her name was cassandra

Leave a Reply

