Fiction Fridays #12 – Ideal Life, part one.


So I recently went to see a career counselor who asked me to do an exercise where I imagine my life in the future from waking up in the morning to going to sleep at night and free-write about it using as much detail as possible. Here goes nothing.

***

It is April 20th, 2018. It is 8:05 in the morning. Per as usual, I do not want to get out of my warm, cozy bed, but my two dogs have been pulling on my covers for the past ten minutes, so I reckon it’s about that time.

I throw back the dark grey coverlet and step onto the hardwood floor. Usually, there are slippers by my bedside, but one of my dogs has been taking them and hiding them for the past week or so. It’s warm for April anyways, so I don’t bother looking for them, and trudge barefoot down the stairs in my oversized t-shirt, the pups nipping at my heels.

They go out the door like two golden blurs, tumbling over themselves in the large backyard. Luckily for me, the invisible fence stops them just shy of the lake.

I leave them to their business and head into the kitchen to put down their breakfast My boyfriend is already making eggs. He doesn’t live with me yet, but he’s here often enough to warrant keeping an extra box in the fridge just for his sake. He hands me a steaming plateful of sunny side with whole wheat toast and a cup of coffee with milk and sugar, just how I like it, and I eat at the kitchen counter with him at my side and the dogs at my feet.

At 8:30, I head back upstairs, brush my hair, and throw on a pair of jeans and a nice blouse. I’m lucky enough to have scored a job that doesn’t require me to dress up every day. I’m out the door by 8:45, with my boyfriend pulling out of the driveway behind me.

One comment

  1. Pingback: Fiction Fridays #13 – Ideal Life, part two. | her name was cassandra

Leave a Reply

