Fiction Friday #11- Cabinets, part three.


Here it is folks, the long awaited end of Cabinets. I do not for the life of me know why so many of y’all liked this story so much, but, yay? I guess?

***

Ralph and Mr. Brown stood silently for several long moments as the coffee soaked into the dense gray carpeting.

“Mr. Harowitz, before I begin-” Mr. Brown started.

“No need, Mr. Brown,” Ralph interrupted him, holding up his hand, “I know you’re here to let me go.”

There was a long silence that told Ralph everything he needed to know. He turned away.

“Ralph, it’s a real shame you’re gonna go like this,” Mr. Brown said. “I vouched for you, but there was nothing I could do.”

“I understand, Frank,” Ralph said without turning around. “I’m not sore at you.”

Frank Brown stood in the doorway with his hand on the frame as Ralph moved to his desk and picked up his coat.

“I’ll be back to get my things tomorrow,” Ralph said.

“Of course.”

“Can I have a moment?”

Mr. Brown nodded and walked away, his brown leather shoes clicking in the empty hallway.

Ralph grabbed a stack of tissues from Clarissa’s desk and mopped up the coffee spill best he could, throwing them away into her Lisa Frank garbage can decorated with rainbow spotted dalmatians.

And then everything exploded. Because this is the terrible end to a terrible story about two boring people working in super boring jobs, one of whom gets fired. You know what’s more interesting than writing or reading the end of this story? Literally almost anything else. Go wash a plate. It’ll be dramatically more compelling. Seriously. Ralph gets fired and Clarissa is waiting for him in the parking lot and they make out. That’s the summary. I just saved you 500 more agonizing words about stupid crap. You’re welcome.

Sheesh.

Leave a Reply

