Different yoga for different yogis.


Okay internet. I promised y’all that I’d tell you about this amazing yoga dance party I went to last week. However, I also recently went to a class taught by a friend of mine that I really want to talk about as well. So I guess I’m going to kill two birds with one stone today.

It’s funny because on paper, these classes were very similar, but they couldn’t have been more different if you tried. In practice, these classes were seriously salt and pepper. Black and white. East and west. Arts and sciences. You get it.

Internet, I’ve never been as gross as I was during these practices. I was rancid. I had to flip my mat over in the middle of both of them and I was still sliding around in a puddle of my own sweat (reasons why I’m single #24- I sweat like a fat tourist in Cancun during the summer solstice).  Both of these classes were in heated rooms with 40-50 other people for an hour and a half. They were both power yoga classes, meaning that we did a whole ton of pushups and core work and all that craziness. That’s pretty much where the similarities end.

The yoga dance party was amazing. It was so much fun. We did it as an end to our 40 days program, but we left it open to anyone who wanted to come and made it free. I got to figure out the playlist and included such hits as “Beauty and a Beat”, “I Wanna Dance with Somebody”, “I Feel Good”, and “Sexy and I Know it”, because my taste in music is flawless (reasons why I’m single # 37- I have terrible taste in music). Essentially what we did was tag-team-teaching- mi madre started teaching, then passed it to someone else, who passed it to someone else, and so one. It was fun and spontaneous and there was a lot of screaming and yelling and laughing and singing involved. We even got some of our students who aren’t teachers to teach a little bit. Most of the people in the room knew each other or had at least been in the studio and the community before, so we all felt like we could let our hair down and get weird. Totally mindblowing, and pretty much everyone left saying that we absolutely had to do it again.

The other class was taught by a friend of mine from yoga teacher training, Samuel Robinson, who teaches at both of Baron Baptiste’s yoga studios in Boston. He’s been to pretty well every Baptiste training there is, he’s Baptiste certified, and he’s brilliant. I begged Mater to go and I’m so glad we did. It was a no music, no frills, bare bones traditional vinyasa class. Lots of long holds and breathing and some really good verbal cues that I’m absolutely stealing- sorry Sam, those toe mound pointers are mine now! I loved being anonymous with a bunch of like-minded people. It was a welcome change from being a teacher in a studio that everyone knows and feeling like I’m being looked at or evaluated. It was a refreshing reset.

In both classes I sweated, I breathed, I moved, and I had fun in completely different ways. They were so dissimilar, it’s hard to even classify them as the same type of yoga.

I’ve heard people talk about what is and isn’t yoga, and I think that’s poppycock. Some people like music during class, some don’t. Some people like laughing and silliness during class, some like meditation and breathing and serious practice. Some people like ketchup and mustard on their burgers, some like BBQ sauce, and sometimes it depends on the day. You’re still getting the burger, just with different toppings. The movement, the workout, the connection, the “meat” of the practice, is still there for you to tap into.

Personally when I practice alone, I put on a mix of techno music and gangster rap. I guess that’s a burger with cheese and sautéed onions?

Man, now I’m hungry.

One comment

Leave a Reply

