Fiction Friday #6 – The Lunch Date.


This week I took a quote I liked from Pinterest- “Like, I just wanna make art, read books and find someone who likes me enough to kiss my face”.

***

“Life is so full of struggles sometimes,” Rebecca remarked to Maria as they were walking away from the countertop, coffee in hand. “Like, I just wanna make art, read books and find someone who likes me enough to kiss my face. Is that too much to ask?”

“I guess so.” Maria responded. This was not the first time they’d had this particular conversation, and with every reiteration, Maria found she had less to say.

They sat down at their usual corner table and waited for their food.

“Like, I’ve been single so long, I think three more species went extinct since the last time I was in a relationship,” Rebecca continued, oblivious to Maria’s lack of enthusiasm on the subject. She was into abstract metaphors lately.

“That’s such a terrible thing to say, Rebecca!” Maria exclaimed.

“Maybe, but I’m not wrong. I could look it up right now, want me to?”

“I think he gave me a full fat caramel caffé macchiato instead of a skinny one,” Maria said, by way of changing the conversation. She took the lid off of the cup and gave it a once-over, as if she could tell the fat content of her beverage by looking at it.

Rebecca, who was about to tell Maria she thought the guy sitting across from them was cute, fell silent and took out her phone as Maria kept poking at her beverage.

The guy sitting across from them, who had initially thought Rebecca was kind of cute, assumed that she had a boyfriend that she was texting.

Rebecca, who was just scrolling randomly through her Facebook feed, was trying to disguise the fact that she thought Maria was being a bit of a bitch.

Maria, who had lied about her suspicions about the skim milk in her coffee, put the lid back on and sipped as she watched the waiter cross the room with their food.

With nothing else to say to each other, the girls quietly ate their sandwiches and left, promising to call each other to hang out again soon, and knowing, in their heart-of-hearts, they would not.

 

Leave a Reply

