Irrational fears.


I have a lot of irrational fears. They range the gamut from being a mild annoyance in my life to a crippling terror. One of my New Year’s resolution’s this year was to finally take one off the list. It’s not going well.

I think it’s interesting that fear can shift and change a lot over the course of someone’s life. When I was a little girl, I was pretty positive that at one point I was going to wake up and my bed with have floated out of the house because of a giant flood, so I slept with a bag of “survival supplies” (books, a change of underwear, and a chocolate bar). I do not have any idea where this concept came from, although I did live on a lake in Canada in a haunted house. My best guess is that the story of Noah’s Flood confused me. I was not a quick learner.

At some point my fear of flooding magically went away and was replaced with a ridiculous, all-consuming fear of heights. I fell off a chairlift and ended up dangling off of it for the whole ride up. It was unpleasant. I was maybe 10 years old. I still have a vivid memory of this incident. No bueno. Interestingly, I’ve becoming pretty good at handling chairlifts, but gondolas, tall cliff faces, large buildings, balconies, and poorly made porches are a serious no-go for me. I passed out at the top of the Eiffel tower. It was super embarrassing.

Coupled with my fear of heights is a fear I’can really only conceptualized as “fear-of-imagining-myself-falling-from-the-ceiling”. It’s almost like reverse claustrophobia in that I’m not great with large open spaces, but it’s more like I’m timid around large open spaces within buildings. I remember going into a very large cathedral in France and the space between myself and the roof was mindbogglingly awful. I was perfectly aware that I was on the ground and I wouldn’t even be going up somewhere high, but all that space above me was just the worst thing, for some reason.

Thunderstorms. I hate thunderstorms. I don’t like loud, sudden noises. I don’t know.

Australia. Is awful. Read Cracked. Less of a fear, more of a disinclination to go there.

Do you have any awful irrational fears, internet?

3 comments

  1. Golay

    I maintain that you’re missing out big time on Australia. I’ve spent 6 months over there and admittedly did break my foot but that didn’t have anything to do with being in Australia (wait was it the upside down gravity?) but last I checked I’m not dead and I definitely had a amazing time.

  2. callmekate13

    Buses. That being said, it’s not so much a fear, as it is an intense hatred and an avoid at all costs attitude. And just a little bit (read: a lot) of fear that i try not to openly admit.

  3. Pingback: Nope. « her name was cassandra

Leave a Reply

