Write to future you!


This is what I consider to be a fairly compelling story prompting you to send future you a letter right now.

As you may have gathered from the fact that I started a blog to force myself to write more, I consider myself to be somewhat of a fair hand with a story. I’m now a college graduate with a dual degree in Art and English (and a French minor, thank you very much). I’m actually in limbo right now waiting to hear back from the few creative writing grad school programs I applied to.

I received a letter from my thirteen-year-old self one afternoon while I was filling out the basic information on a graduate school application. It was part of a school project I had done in middle school and completely forgotten about. In the envelope was a page of writing from a story I had started, along with the letter, which urged me in bold letters to KEEP ON WRITING, no matter what else I was doing.

I can say with complete honesty that it was one of the most self-satisfying moments of my life thus far. How many other people can say that they are still pursuing the dreams they had when they were children? Instead of wanting to be a princess or an astronaut, I wanted to be an author. I wanted to be an author so badly that I once broke down crying in the bookstore because I didn’t want my books to be out of reach on the top shelf.

The funny thing is, though, is for a while in the middle, I completely forgot that I was devoted to writing as a kid. Well, not forgot, exactly, but I sort of put it on the back burner and tried to be an artist for a while. Gallery shows, creative thesis involving crayons and female sexuality (yikes), graphic design, video game art, you name it.

I changed my mind and decided to pursue writing before I got that letter from myself, but what if I hadn’t? Would it have changed my mind? Inspired me? At least given me a chuckle in the middle of an otherwise un-noteworthy day?

Since receiving that letter, however, my confidence in my career goals has skyrocketed. If for no other reason, it was totally worth it.

That could be you, internet. Go here right now and write yourself a note. It’ll take five minutes. Youtube can wait.

You could change your future right now. Will you?

One comment

  1. Pingback: Post 100?? | her name was cassandra

Leave a Reply

