I’m probably hungover.


In the very likely event that I’ll be hungover tomorrow, I’m writing this post in advance. It’s somewhat funny that people my age celebrate our most illustrious moments getting drunk as skunks at the local watering hole, but there you have it.

In real life, among other things, I work at my mom’s yoga and pilates studio teaching yoga, so today marks the inpouring of the holiday “this is the year I get fit” crowd. Thank you in advance, useless resolution making tradition, for making the next few weeks at the studio some of the busiest and best. I’m sure we will get the usual crowd of uncharacteristically motivated people in today to buy class packs that they will never complete.

You want it? Work for it.

You want it? Work for it.

Mum had planned to close the studio today, but 6 or 7 students asked her to host a class to ring in the new year. I’m betting 2 of them, maybe, actually come. People have a funny way of convincing themselves that they will do exercise in the near future. Yeah right. I find the longer a student’s fitspiration board is on Pinterest, the less likely they are to come in for all ten classes on their class pack.

Don’t let my cynicism convince you that I don’t care about my students, because I well and truly do. I have taught some of the most inspirational, hard working, down-on-their-luck-and-pulling-themselves-out-of-the-hole people I’ve ever met in the past year, and I’ll be damned if watching some of those people do yoga hasn’t completely brightened my day on more then one occasion. I’m just sick of watching people (and I’m being hypocritical here) start things that they don’t complete, especially with fitness.

Hopefully this is the year one of those resolutioners proves me wrong.

Credit to Alex Edelman for the beautiful photo.

Leave a Reply

